The 60 Largest Vendors in the K-12 Education Industry

The 60 Largest Vendors in the K-12 Education Industry
October 1, 1999

 

Advantage Schools ARAMARK Educational Resources Beacon Education Management Charter Schools USA The Edison Project Excel Education Centers The Leona Group Mosaica Education National Heritage Academy Nobel Learning Communities Ombudsman Alternatives SABIS Educational Systems The TesseracT Group White Hat Management
Table 1

Education Management Organizations
Preschool Private Charter Public Web site
    U   www.advantage-learning.com
U U     www.meritor.com
    U U www.beaconedu.com
    U   www.charterschoolsusa.com
    U U www.edisonproject.com
    U   n/a
    U   www.leonagroup.com
    U   www.mosaicaeducation.com
    U   www.heritageacademies.com
U U U   www.nobellearning.com
    U   n/a
  U U   www.sabis.net
U U U   TesseracT.pvt.K12.mn.us
    U   n/a

Table 2

At Risk Youth
Children's Comprehensive Services www.ccskids.com
Cornell Corrections www.cornellcorrections.com
Correctional Service Corporation www.correctionalservices.com
Corrections Corporation of America www.correctionscorp.com
Kids1 n/a
Ramsey Youth Services www.ramsay.com
Res-Care www.rescare.com
Wackenhut Corrections www.wackenhut.com

Table 3

Teacher Training
Advantage Learning Systems
Caliber Learning Network www.caliberlearning.com
Canter & Associates www.sylvanlearning.com
Classroom Connect www.classroom.com
EMG www.emg.com
ETC n/a
FUTUREKIDS www.futurekids.com
Primedia www.primediainc.com
Teacher Universe www.knowledgeu.com

Table 4

In-School Tutoring
HOSTS www.hosts.com
Kaplan www.washpostco.com
Sylvan Learning Systems www.sylvanlearning.com

Table 5

Before and After School Programs
Berlitz www.berlitz.com
Explore, Inc. www.exploreinc.com
Sylvan Learning Systems www.sylvanlearning.com
Voyager Expanded Learning www.iamvoyager.com

Table 6

Textbook Publishers
  1996 K-12 Sales ($ millions) Web site
Simon & Schuster $632.0 www.pearson.com
McGraw-Hill $627.1 www.mcgraw-hill.com
Houghton Mifflin $497.7 www.hmco.com
Harcourt General $390.9 www.harcourtbrace.com
Addison Wesley Longman $300.0 www.pearson.com
Tribune Education $151.9 www.tribuneeducation.com
K-III Communications $146.5 www.primediainc.com
Scholastic $146.5 www.scholastic.com
Thompson $146.2 itp.thompson.com
Torstar $56.7 www.torstar.com
Steck-Vaughn $39.8 n/a
Other $126.7  
Total Industry $3,216.4  

Table 7
Private School Companies
ARAMARK Educational Resources www.meritor.com
Bright Horizons Family Solutions www.brighthorizons.com
Challenger Schools www.challengerschool.com
Nobel Learning Communities www.nobellearning.com
PineCrest Schools www.pinecrestschools.com
The TesseracT Group TesseracT.pvt.K12.mn.us

Table 8

Education Technology Companies
Computer Curriculum Corp. www.cccnet.com
Primedia www.primediainc.com
Jostens Learning Co. www.jlc.com
The Learning Company www.learningco.com
McGraw-Hill www.mcgraw-hill.com

Table 9

Education Products for Schools
Advantage Learning Systems www.advlearn.com
ARAMARK Educational Resources www.medallionsp.com
American Educational Products www.amep.com
Educational Development Corp. www.edcpub.com
The Learning Company www.learningco.com
TRO Learning www.plato.com

Table 10
Educational Products and Services for Consumers
Sylvan Learning Systems www.sylvanlearning.com
Kaplan Educational Services www.washpostco.com
Berlitz www.berlitz.com
Gateway Learning www.gatewaylearning.com
Leapfrog Toys www.knowledgeu.com

Table 11

Education Software
The Learning Company www.learningco.com
Humongous Entertainment www.gtinteractive.com
Microsoft www.microsoft.com
InfoUSA www.InfoUSA.com
Disney www.disney.go.com
Havas Interactive www.havasinteractive.com

Table 12

Food Service & Facility Management
ARAMARK www.aramark.com
Marriott School Support Services www.sodexhomarriott.com
ServiceMaster www.svm.com

Table 13

Transportation
Laidlaw Transit www.laidlawtransitservices.com
Ryder Student Transportation www.ryder.com

Sources: The Book of Knowledge. The Education Industry Report, company reports.